A bit more .....

About Chris

About me:

My name is Christiaan (call me Chris), a Dutch native, I’m 30 years old and I’ve been teaching English and Dutch for over 4 years now. 


I see myself as a funny and positive person. I care about making people around me feel comfortable and am very patient. Having these skills made me decide 4 years ago to switch careers and to become a teacher. 


I am currently living in Mexico and have lived, besides the Netherlands, in Spain and Vietnam before. 


My hobbies?

– Watching/playing sports like football, cycling, formula 1, volleybal and hiking

– Playing/listening to music. I like to play the guitar and am a big fan of old soul music. 

– Traveling. I love to learn from other cultures, hence my desire to live in other countries. 


My teaching experience? 

I started teaching English in Vietnam. I tried all kinds of age groups and classes and had experienced here working for a university, huge and difficult to manage classes at a high-school, energetic and creative classes with younger kids, science and math classes,  presentations in front of 300 students, IELTS tutoring, and lots of communication classes with adults.


After this, I decided to take a step back and to focus fully on teaching online. At first especially English classes and after a while decided to teach Dutch as well. I’ve found a way to be adaptive to the students needs, and to still add a structure to the classes that will benefit the student’s learning effectiveness. 


This made me decide to start my own website. I love my job and hope that I can share my passion for languages with you!